Exclusive Interview with Rising Starlet Emily Lawrence


 alt=  alt=

On this blog, we often put sweethearts on a pedestal and EMILY LAWRENCE is a young talent who is slated for a spell of adoration. She is about to blaze a trail on film as well as on the digital front. One of the stars of the dazzling new webseries “Tinker Steampunk” , this is a much watch for its retro-futuristic fantastical fun. If you’re attending Her Royal Majesty’s Steampunk Symposium from January 10th-12th at The Queen Mary in Long Beach, you may be able to catch the fetchingly gorgeous EMILY.

Here’s the interview where Emily talks about what inspired her to be an actress and how there are still good roles for women in the industry:

1. Your upcoming feature “Tinker Steampunk” is an intriguing mashup of sci-fi, retro and steampunk. Can you give us a tease of what audiences can expect?

A lot of adventure and awesome costumes. Personally, I’m most excited about the costumes. I’m a big fan of steampunk myself, which is part of the reason why I’m working on the project. I love getting all dressed up; I have a wide variety of fun outfits in my closet, but steampunk is one of my favorites. We’re shooting the pilot later this month. I’m very excited for it.

2. Having appeared in various genres such as drama and horror, what is the one genre you most identify with?

I don’t think there’s a ‘genre’ that I identify with. I identify with people, with truth, with emotion. These things can be found in any genre. Personally, I like working in all of them: drama, horror, comedy, romance, dramedy, mystery, etc. It keeps my skills as an actor sharp and it’s fun to try different things.

3. On that note who is the one actor or actress you most envision working with and why?

There are tons of actors that I have tremendous respect for and would love to work with. Beyond actors, there are directors, writers, and other creative artists I’d love to work with as well. It’s hard to choose just one. All I can say is that I want to work with people who have the same goal as me: to make great art that inspires and moves its audience.

4. With the entertainment scene in Korea being hot in so many ways, would you consider being cast in a Korean movie?

Of course! I’m always open to new possibilities. Plus, I love to travel. I spent a year traveling in Europe and have dreams of spending time in Asia, South America, and many other parts of the world. Korea is definitely on my list.

5. Tell us about your life away from the camera and what led you to make a stab at acting?

I grew up in New York and moved out to Los Angeles after I graduated from New York University’s Tisch School of the Arts with a BFA in Drama. I always loved to act in school plays and community theater when I was growing up. I studied acting in college with the intention of staying in New York to do theater. In my very last semester, I decided that acting for film suited me better, so I moved out to Los Angeles. Now I make my living as an actor, writer, and narrator of audiobooks (under the name Emily Gittelman, look me up on amazon!) I’ve co-authored several biographies and works of historical fiction, also available on amazon. When I’m not working, I like to read, travel, and LARP (Live Action Role Play).

6. “The Wolf Of Wall Street” has a tendency to be misogynistic at times due to its subject matter? Do you think there are still strong roles out there for women to sink their teeth into?

I’m not an expert, but I don’t think there are any fewer strong roles for women today than there have been previously. Films made before the feminist revolution in the 1970s definitely didn’t have very many strong female roles. I’m sure there have been small variances in the caliber of female roles over the last forty years, but I’m not sure you could really say women are worse off now than they were before. Minorities are certainly doing better than ever, and of course many female actors benefit from that. It’s still definitely a struggle for women to find good roles that don’t sexualize or stereotype them, but they’re definitely out there.

7. Lastly, what do you think best represents being an entertainer? Is it distinctive beauty, the talent to stir hearts or the ability to connect with audiences?

All of the above and more. There is no single quality that defines being an entertainer. Some entertainers are only entertaining because of their beauty, and they don’t have much else to offer. Some touch our hearts, even if we don’t find them beautiful. And I would argue that the ability to “stir hearts” is really the same thing as connecting with an audience. The most successful entertainers combine all three, I would say. Though for me, the ability to stir hearts and connect with audiences far supersedes beauty, but that’s just because of what I value and appreciate.

Visit the EMILY LAWRENCE OFFICIAL SITE

Visit her IMDB PAGE

Leave a Reply

