SXSW 2014 Special: Exclusive Interview with Indie Princess Sylvia Grace Crim


 alt=  alt=

With the world premiere of “Big Significant Things” happening this Saturday, 8th of March, it’s such a pleasure to be able to talk to Sylvia Grace Crim, one of the stars of this road trip drama. She will be gracing SXSW on the weekend and if you are there, keep your eyes peeled for this affable talent who is cuteness personified. Having traverse the film industry from New York to New Orleans, Sylvia’s boldness in looking to perfect her craft is also to be admired. Great to see her alongside Game Of Thrones Star Harry Lloyd in the free-sprited “Big Significant Things” that begs the question what is the thing that truly makes us happy? With a lot of positive word-of mouth, this might just be the breakthrough for Sylvia to gain a passionate following.

Make sure to visit the SLYVIA GRACE CRIM OFFICIAL SITE and watch more of her fascinating onscreen endeavors. Here’s the interview to pique your interest for her:

1. Hi Sylvia. Can you tell me more about your role as Grace in “Big Significant Things”

Grace is a young girl who is always looking to have a good time. She didn’t get to experience some of the adventures most teenagers do, so when we see her in “BST”, she is sort of catching up with the fun in her life. I wouldn’t call her selfish but she is a bit more focused on what she wants/likes/needs, etc. Grace is also a bartender at a local watering hole in Mississippi. It is a perfect atmosphere for her snarky but like-able attitude.

2. You will be gracing the world premiere of “Big Significant Things” at this year’s SXSW. What are you most looking forward to?

I am really looking forward to seeing my fellow cast and crew members again. It has been a long time! I am also just so excited about all the filmmakers and artists that will be in Austin this weekend. There will be so many wonderful people to meet and network with.

3. This is a road trip dramedy about a guy who goes on a solo jaunt to experience life in the south? He does it for the adventure but would you dare to traverse the country alone?

I would most definitely go on a road trip alone. It would be a great way to really personally connect with the world. I have always wanted to travel the world. I think about doing it a lot, but with my little sister. You can only talk to yourself for so many miles. 🙂

4. What was is like working on “Big Significant Things” and what was the best part of playing your character?

The crew on this film so was fun. Everyone was polite, hardworking and creative. It was such an honor getting to work along side Harry Lloyd (Game of Thrones). He is an incredible actor. I took in a lot of his notes and comments. He definitely knows what he is doing. I would say the best part about playing Grace was figuring out the relationships between the other characters. I didn’t want to make her outgoing, boisterous personality seem obnoxious. There is a reason why the group Grace hangs out with appeals to the audience. It was great fun finding that on set.

5. Can you let us in our your future projects and what is the one role that you are dying to play?

5. I have a couple projects up my sleeve. I am working on an independent short right now. I will get to work with a lot of my friends in the New Orleans community. There are so many of us there now. A lot of talented Actors and film makers. This is a busy season for me. The auditions are pouring in. That is when I am happiest of course. Dream role? Man I have 100! I really want to be a kick ass heroine. I love action. I would also love to do a period piece. Costumes and accents are the most fun.

6. Since we are on the topic, what has been the most significant event in your life?

The most significant thing in my life right now, is the move I made from New York to New Orleans. I would say it would be from my small hometown of Nixa, MO. to NY, however I didn’t get butt in gear until I got to NOLA.

7. Having been a dancer since the age of 7, how crucial is music in film and what was it like appearing in the community musical Footloose?

Music in film can make or break a scene! In my opinion, it is one of the most important parts of editing and finishing a film. The whole world relates to music. It brings feelings outside of us, just like Actors do.
Footloose was a looong time ago. It was the first play I ever did, of age. It was a huge deal. I wanted to be the star but underclassman have to earn their place. I got to be in the front in all the dances though, so that was cool!

8. Tell us more about your life away from the camera? What are some of your passions?

I am passionate about many things in life. As I was saying, I love music. All kinds from all over the world. Dancing is a great release for me. I am passionate about keeping the earth a clean place, so I really encouraging recycling and energy conservation. My family too!

9. Tells us any interesting and/or funny incident on set that you can remember.

I had a good relationship with girls in Hair/makeup and wardrobe. We were always laughing and making jokes. They really helped me enjoy the down time of shooting.

10. Lastly, what do you think best represents being an entertainer? Is it distinctive beauty, the talent to stir hearts or the ability to connect with audiences?

The important part about being an entertainer, is just that. It is his/her job to keep one interested, enthralled, curious. An entertainer takes your worries away and carries your imagination to amazing heights.

Leave a Reply

