Exclusive Interview with Rising Starlet Brieanna Steele


Brieanna Steele is a burgeoning indie actress with the undeniable charisma and artistic verve that’s very much endearing. Her drive to see more females being represented on film is in itself worthy of adulation. On as well as off screen, Brieanna is a shaker and mover, letting her myriad of talents be the cornerstone of enchantment. She’s also slated to captivate the world in the upcoming “William Froste” which has been called The Expendables of horror with its cast of luminaries that have mesmerized us in the much beloved genre. Look out for Lisa Wilcox/Amanda Wyss (of “A Nightmare On Elm Street” fame), Scream Queens Tiffany Shepis/Jillian Murray and legends Kane Hodder/Bill Moseley/Michael Berryman.

Here’s the interview with the lovely Brieanna as she reveals more about her appearance in “Windsor Drive” and her exciting upcoming features:

1. Can you tell me more about your role in the film “Windsor Drive” and what was the best thing that you love about your character Liz?

Liz Leaf is a ruthless producer searching for the right talent for her remake of an old classic film also titled Windsor Drive. She is sharp as nails, who take nonsense from no-one. The funnest part of playing her was probably that I was also the producer of Windsor Drive, so that gave me a plenty to pull from.

2. What was is like working on the set and did you get to work with the always adorable Samaire Armstrong?

I love being on a set!! The energy is electric and forever intoxicating! There is a whole team of people working with you, making magic happen. Its very rewarding we you can look back and see the hard work paying off.

Samaire Armstrong, is a absolute doll! She is one of the sweetest actresses I have ever interacted with. I just adore her beautiful loving free spirit. She is a phenomenal talent who I can’t wait to see more big things from. Our company Absinthe Productions LLC, was the production company on Windsor Drive. I not only got the pleasure of working with these talented actors, but I also played an intricate part in casting and bringing these actors on board.

3. The indie genre has some of the best storytelling in the industry. What has been your most memorable experience as an indie actress?

One of my most memorable moments was when we shot “Liquorice” and I had to bathe in a tub full of absinthe. Absinthe has the scent of Anise and is know to be one of the most intoxicating spirits known around the world. Most people mistake it for a Liquor but it is not. It rests in the family of spirits like wine. I played a mysterious character named Berlin, who was so obsessed with the green liquid, that she even bathed in it. I smelled of Black Licorice for a week.

4. You’re also a writer, painter and photographer. How do you go about juggling multiple projects?

For me there is not much to juggle. I am just an artist who like to express my emotions through different mediums. Allowing for my imagination and expressions to have different platforms to dance on, makes it easier when one is not working for you. As a writer I get to express it from my point of view. As a painter I, get to choose the colors that fill my world. As a photographer I, get to capture moments the way my mind wants to remember them. As an Actress/Producer I get to makes those energies come to life.

5. Who is the actor or actress you most want to work with and why?

There are so many that I hold in such high regard, its hard to choose just one. Im inspired everyday by so many brilliant, strong, talented women changing the game in our industry right now. Thats something I really strive to be a part of. Some of my favorite actresses are Charlize Theron, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Sarah Paulson, Evan Rachel Wood, Juliette Lewis & Winona Ryder. I would have to say… I’d give my right leg, to have gotten the chance to work with the late Robin Williams. What a genius talent he was. I think he was one of the first actors to show me how versatile an actor could be. Kevin Spacey, Mark Ruffalo, Giovanni Ribisi, Jared Leto & Anthony Hopkins are among some of the other actors, I have such respect for and would love to learn from.

6. This is most certainly the golden era for scripted television and women are fronting some of the best shows. Do you harbor an ambition to be in one and which show would that be?

Television is kicking it up a notch and we need to see more women at the forefront of that. We need more Olivia Benson’s out there kick ass an taking names! Shows like Lena Dunham’s (Girls) & Jenji Kohan’s (Orange Is The New Black) rise with success, because of the strong female characters and gritty intense storylines they create. Plus I am a HUGE fan of American Horror Story. I think Ryan Murphy is a mastermind! Everything he creates is phenomenal. The rabbit hole of depth that he provides his actors with, is so intriguing to me. His female characters are just as strong as their male counterparts, creating an equal playing field of darkness, range & thought provoking content. It is content like that, that I would love to sink my teeth into.

7. How has social media impacted on you as an actress and what’s the nicest thing a fan has ever said to you?

Social Media has grown so much over the last 10 years. It still really blows me away sometimes. I would have flipped at that opportunity as a kid to follow or talk to a celebrity or actor that I looked up too. It’s surreal to be able to connect now with our fans and give them something they can cherish. With out them and their support our art would just fall by the wayside, so I love how social media allows for more of that personal experience. I was recently thanked by a fan for the work that our company does to empower women. It really means a lot to know, what we do makes a difference and really affects our younger generation.

8. In your opinion, what does it mean to be an entertainer and what inspired you to pursue acting?

For me entertaining is… being able to reach in to one’s mind, body, or soul and trigger a plethora of emotions. I like being the spirit of that. Affecting someone, making them think, react feel. See for me, its not just the audience your triggering, its also the ones you are playing opposite of, or the ones you are telling the story for, its our job as entertainers to effect them all. An actor gets to wear the characters skin as a costume; At the end of the day when their work is done, they can remove it and put it away; Either for good or for a rainy day. It was then, that I knew acting was the type of “closet” I wanted.

9. Tell us a little about your life away from the camera?

It’s good knowing that when the camera is off, then Im off too. Those are the times where everything slows down and I get to relish in the simpler things in life like, family, friends, good food, great conversations and lots of laughter. One thing I really enjoy is… packing up my dogs and traveling to a nice quiet cabin in the mountains for some good R&R and connect with nature. Its a great way to recharge your battery and get the creative juices flowing again.

10. Lastly, give us a tease of your upcoming projects and how can we keep up with the latest news about you.

Our film Windsor Drive hits LA theaters in August 2015. Then we will begin shooting on our next feature William Froste in September. William Froste is a horror film with an extensive ensemble cast of horror icons and Directed by Natalie Bible`, who also directed Windsor Drive. I am also in the process of writing a two screenplays at this time. Once is an epic tale about past lives, and the other is one I am co-writing that is inspired by true events. So needless to say things are busy and you will be seeing a lot more from us here at Absinthe Productions. To keep up to date with me and my films you can find us on Twitter or Facebook @BrieannaSteele @WINDS0RDRIVE @WilliamFroste, or you can checkout my website for more details and info. www.absintheproductionsllc.com

Leave a Reply

