Exclusive Interview with Rising Starlet Katie Maguire


 alt=

One of the most dynamic talents we should start cherishing, the multi-faceted Katie Maguire is enchanting the industry with her charming vibrancy. She stars in “Terrifier” which screens at the Telluride Horror Film Festival which runs from Oct 14-16. Thanks to the ever gracious Katie, she’s so kindly granted an interview right here. Here’s Katie revealing more about “Terrifier”, her views on the evolution of women onscreen and many more.

1. Could you give us a tease of your role in “Terrifier” and why should audiences watch it?

I had a lot of fun with this role. I play Monica Brown, a TV host. She is very different from the character that I played in All Hallow’s Eve. I open up the film interviewing one of Art The Clown’s victims. I think that audiences should watch this film largely because of how talented Damien Leone is and the effort and detail that he put into this film really comes through. This film has been years in the making. I actually worked on the short film Terrifier but on the production side back in 2010. It was really great to be on set of Terrifier the feature and see Damien’s hard work and dream come into fruition. Plus this film is guaranteed to give you nightmares!

2. “Terrifier” threads on the fear of clowns. What’s you biggest fear?

Meeting any of the characters that Damien Leone has created in real life! 😉

3. Please tell us more about your upcoming projects and what has been your most memorable experience as an actress.

Some of my upcoming projects include Search Party – a new TV series that will be premiering on TBS in November. I am in one of the early episodes. Another project is the webseries that I created with Catherine Callahan LI Divas. It is a mockumentary series based on the Real Housewives. We just premiered Season 2. I play Gina Gianelli-Goldenbaum. Creating and acting in this series has been full of memorable experiences. Catherine and I wear many hats – producers, writers, directors, editors, and actors – however it does not feel like work or a job. I would say that working on this series has been the most fun that I have ever had working as an actress. Catherine and I have a very similar sense of humor. We are constantly laughing on set, in the editing room, and in writing sessions.

4. Who are the actors/actresses you would love to work in the future?

Some actresses that I would love to work with in the future would be Viola Davis, Sarah Polley, Rose McGowan, Kate Winslet, Cate Blanchett, Olivia Wilde the list could go on… I really admire strong women that have something to say. I not only admire the work of these women but what they stand for. Some actors I would like to work with Robert Downey Junior, Aaron Paul (we did a T-Mobile commercial together last year and I have nothing but praise for him. I would love to work with him on a film or TV show), Paul Rudd, John Turturro, Louis C.K. again the list could go on. What I admire in these actors is their comedic ability but also their ability to play more dramatic roles with such honesty.

5. How do you see female roles evolving in the next few years and what are the type of female roles would you like to be part of?

We are starting to see a shift in female roles. There are more roles with females playing the lead in a film or a TV series not just the supporting role of girlfriend, wife, or mother. For example Emily Blunt in Sicario, Krysten Ritter in Jessica Jones, Viola Davis in How To Get Away With Murder… I think there is still a long way to go but I do see the roles that are available to women starting to shift. I am very attracted to strong female characters. Roles in which women are portrayed as whole and complex humans. I would also love to play more comedic roles. I love playing over the top characters!

Katie also won Best Actress at the NYC WebFest in 2015 which shows she’s dazzling it up on 3 fronts. She can be seen in the drama “Gold Star” which recently had its premiere at the Buffalo International Film Festival 2016. Her appearance in “Search Party” alongside Alia Shawkat should intrigue us too. All the more reason to show Katie a wave of adoration.

Do visit the KATIE MAGUIRE OFFICIAL SITE for more updates.

2 thoughts on “Exclusive Interview with Rising Starlet Katie Maguire

Leave a Reply

