Queens World Film Fest 2017 Spotlight: Laura Dowling Shea


actress laura dowling shea great expectations

On the festival front, we’re always drawn to the relatable appeal of indie actresses and Laura Dowling Shea gets our vote of approval. She’s the star of the short film “Great Expectations” as Maribeth who is frazzled by the weight of work and decides to hire an assistant. Little does she know her search for an aide will be an eye-opener as a series of oddball applicants appear for interviews. Laura was nominated for Best Actress for her performance in “Great Expectations” at the recent Grove Film Festival ensuring she’s on the radars of attendees at this year’s Queens World Film Fest.

Here’s Laura revealing more about her current and upcoming projects:

“Great Expectations” has done well at a certain level of festivals and I am so grateful. I have a new project called The Spilling and it’s a drama also a short film and I’ve submitted it to some of the more famous festivals so we will see how that goes. I am mostly interested in acting but because of my business background producing seems to suit me very well! I don’t mind but I don’t want to lose sight of my acting either. I put it on the side for many years to build a career in corporate travel management and now is my time to explore my art as an actor.

Her fans will be glad for her pleasing return to the film world as she has a serene poise that’s to be appreciated. The fact that “Great Expectations” won Best Comedy at the Brightside Tavern Film Festival should signify Laura has been pivotal to the feature’s success thanks to her engaging virtuosity as she’s also the producer. The multi-hyphenate in Laura is indeed joyfully fascinating.

actress laura dowling shea queens world film festival 2017

Do visit the Laura Dowling Shea Official Site for all the latest updates.

Leave a Reply

